News -Prof Phang Siew Moi and her team has awarded the Newton Prize 2017-

Newton Prize 2017


Congratulation to Professor Dr Phang Siew Moi and her team has been awarded the Newton Prize 2017 during the award ceremony on 28 November 2017.

More than 150 projects from India, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam applied for this year's Prize, with a total of 25 outstanding projects being shortlisted and and five Prizes of up to £197,000 or RM 1 million will be awarded to each winner.

Professor Dr Phang Siew Moi, Associate Professor Dr Vengadesh Periasamy, Dr Ng Fong Lee, Mr Muhammad Musoddiq Jaafar (University of Malaya), Dr Adrian Fisher and Dr Kamran Yunus (Cambridge University) with their project entitled Integrating Algal Biophotovoltaics for Bioelectricity Production with Agro-Industrial Wastewater Remediation Using Tropical Algae was the Newton Prize 2017 Winner for Malaysia. The delivery partner for the Newton Prize is the UK National Commission for UNESCO.



Institute of Ocean and Earth Sciences
C308, Institute of Postgraduate Studies Building,
University of Malaya,
50603 Kuala Lumpur,

Tel: (+603) 7967 4640 / 6995
Fax: (+603) 7967 6994

Office Hours 
Mon - Fri: 8.30am - 5.30pm
Sat, Sun and Public Holidays: Closed